A Century of the Red & Black




September 30, 2017

The votes were cast and counted and the trophies engraved. Last night, they were presented to the winners and awardees.


Best & Fairest: Tomi Johnston

Runner Up: Denis Symeopoulos

Third: Nick Wynne

Coaches Award: Lpuis Tiernan

Most Improved Player: Hayden Troiani

The packed house at Leonda applauded the announcement of Tomi Johnston as the winner of the B J O'Shaughnessy Trophy for the second year running. TJ is the first two time winner since Tim Ockleshaw (2003, 2006) and the first reat winner since Michael Blood (2000, 2001).

Runner-Up was fellow on-baller Denis Symeopoulos, who lifted the quality of his game even higher this year. The Sizzling Souvlaki was named in the Big V squad, but missed through injury, but was a regular in the Xavs' best each week.

Nick Wynne secured another podium finish. Two-six is undoubtedly one of the greatest players to wear the red and black and his levels of brilliance and consistency have not falen since the first time we saw him as a 19 year old in 2009.

Louis Tiernan enjoyed another fine season, perhaps his best ever. Whether as a dour defender or a goalscoring option, Lois was always up for the challenge and did all that was asked of him by the coaches.

Hayden Troiani added dash and hard tackling to the Red and Blacks forward setup. Always proved a danger around the sticks.


Best and Fairest: Gabrielle Golds

Runner-Up: Riley Christgoergl

Third: Emily Archer

Coaches Award: Mia Tiernan

Gabby Golds was a thoroughly deserving winner of the inaugural WOX Best and Fairest award. She represented the Big V with distinction and when wearing red and black, was a prime mover in the Xavs engine room.

Riley Christgoergl also played in the Rep team, where she won the highly prized Spirit of the Big V award and later turned out in the Ted Whitten Legends game. Wearing red and black, she was a natural defender who won the plaudits of many for here reliability and skill.

Emily Archer was a fine captain from Day One, proving to be a ball magnet from her debut game in April. Hardworking, dedicated and fearless, Em should be very proud of her efforts.

Mia Tiernan, like her brother Louis, won the coaches trophy, which shows that brother and sister are similar in dedication levels. Mia was a vital cog in the team and won respect of everyone who watched the WOX play.


Best & Fairest: Luke Bisset

Runner Up: Hamish Morris

Third: James Forrest

Best In Finals: Hamish Cullity, Luke Barry

Coaches Award: Mitch Parker

Speedy wingman Luke Bisset began the year in the Thirds, won promotion to the Ressies and showed enough to earn senior selection in R17, where he won more possessions than any teammate and shared best player accolades with fellow debutant Hamish Cullity. Can play, as he demonstrated again in R18 and in both Reserves finals.

Hamish Morris was the 2015 Best and Fairest in the U19s and this was his first season of senior football. Hard at it and highly skilled, he was an extremely valuable player for Murray Browne all year.

James "Milky" Forrest was a power in front of the uprights, managing 64 goals in 19 games, including a bag of nine against SBMT. Strong leading, great marking and accurate kicking saw Forrest among the first chosen every week.

Hamish "Sledge" Cullity and Luke Barry shared the Best in Finals award. Both were dominant for much of the season and capped off their performances when needed. Cullity's late season senior debut gave him plenty of confidence to return to Murray Browne's team for the finals, while Luke Barry was impassable and best on the ground in the Grand Final.

Mitch Parker had his first taste of open age football and impressed all with his skill and dependability. Stuck to his guns all year and showed great improvement.


Best and Fairest: Ash Sorrenti

Runner Up: Jono Close

Third: Fraser Lane

Best in Finals: Harry Sleeman

Coaches Award: George Haddan


Best and Fairest: Fletcher Nugent

Runner Up: James Samartzis

Third: Bill Curtis

Best in Finals: Tom Beaton

Coaches Award: Matt Forrest

U19 Premier

Best and Fairest: James Dalbosco

Runner Up: Michael Batten

Third: Sam Ralph

Best in Finals: Lucas Soccio

Coaches Award: Michael Speakman

U19 Reserves

Best and Fairest: Peter Beaton

Runner Up: D'Arcy O'Shannassy

Third: Joel Ukovic

Best in Finals: Joel Ukovic

Coaches Award: Harry Kirkland


Best and Fairest: Alastair Wood

Runner Up: Matthew Walsh

Third: David Hansen

Best in Finals: Tim Trahair

Coaches Award: Tim Silk